The Bakery Life: Guess What’s Baking in the Oven??!

18 Oct

November 1, 2014, will mark one year, six months, and twenty four days from the birthday of my first baby, Flour & Co.  Oh, how fast they grow.  And, how easy it is to forget the sleepless nights, the sacrifices, and the bad days.  You just have to look at the creation in front of you, the people on the inside and the outside who make it so rewarding, and unconditional love masks the rest.  Little did I know that Flour & Co would be a dress rehearsal for another very real life event.

Well, this other, even more profound, life event is just 2 weeks away.  November 1, 2014, also marks the due date of our real life baby, Baby (Boy) Day.  It’s funny that a year and a half ago, the suggestion of having a baby on top of the bakery would have been laughable (or cryable depending on the day).  However, as 2013 progressed and my mind and body got used to the emotions and work involved in owning a bakery, my husband and I agreed that having a baby just seemed like the perfect next step.  That “momnesia” that everyone talks about must have done its magic (on both of us).

37 weeks pregnant

38 weeks pregnant; +/- 2 weeks to game day

Needless to say, we are beyond excited to meet our little guy in a couple weeks (give or take).  We’re also looking forward to introducing him to our family, friends, and the neighborhood.  I’ve got a wonderful team who is ready to pick up my slack when the big day hits, and have already started in preparation.  My perspective will shift for a month or two as we come in for breakfast each day, as opposed to serving breakfast behind the counter.  This perspective shift will also allow me to work on other parts of the business that I’m not able to accomplish while behind the counter (a struggle that I’ve felt since we opened).  Most of all, we look forward to getting to know and spending significant time with our new baby.  We’ve waited a long time for this and don’t want to miss a moment!

Throughout the last nine months, everyone has been so supportive and shown tremendous care and concern.  It’s fun to know that our baby will have so many friends right off the bat.  We’ve got a lot of speculation floating around as to his birth date and weight, so we thought it would be fun to have people drop their guesses at the bakery.  We’ll be sure to announce the person who is closest when he reveals himself, as well have a little something special for having their finger on his pulse.

With my schedule dwindling down already, you may see me less over the next two weeks, but don’t fret.  You will be some of the first to know when he makes his way into this world.  We have a special treat planned to share, in his honor, when he is born.  We can’t wait to share the news with you!

~ Emily Day

12 Responses to “The Bakery Life: Guess What’s Baking in the Oven??!”

  1. Dafna | Stellina Sweets October 19, 2014 at 1:56 pm #

    Congrats, Emily! I’m so happy for you and the Flour & Co. family! Hope to come visit soon– it’s been waaaay too long. 🙂

    • flourandco October 19, 2014 at 4:48 pm #

      Thank you, Dafna! Yes, hope to see you soon!

  2. Jen October 19, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

    You look beautiful- so happy for you!! I so wish I was closer so I could come visit you & the baby (& eat at the bakery). Best of luck – I’ll be thinking if you!!

    • flourandco October 19, 2014 at 4:47 pm #

      Thanks, Jen! We’ll post pics as soon as we have some! 🙂

  3. Bianka October 19, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

    We’ll stop by tomorrow with our guess! 😉

    • flourandco October 19, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

      Great, see you tomorrow! I’m there until 11ish, so hope I don’t miss you! 🙂

      • Bianka October 21, 2014 at 11:05 pm #

        Haven’t had a chance to come by, hopefully tomorrow. My guess is October 28th, 6 pounds 8 ounces, 18.5 inches…

      • flourandco October 25, 2014 at 10:48 am #

        Did you get my email, Bianka? Just want to make sure. October 28th is looking good at this point! No signs yet…

      • Bianka Folk October 26, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

        I am sorry for the late response, I did get your e-mail, sometimes I think I’ve responded but then I didn’t.

        Glad you like the bunny; Niels and Sienna had/have one 🙂 I guess the baby hasn’t arrived or you would have updated it already??

        Bianka

      • flourandco October 27, 2014 at 5:46 am #

        Oh good, glad you got it. I do the same thing! No baby yet! Waiting game… 🙂

  4. Mandy October 20, 2014 at 8:22 pm #

    Congrats Emily! Thank you for bringing not only a great bakery to Nob Hill, but also the friendly community that has come with it. Best of luck to you and your husband over the next few weeks!

    • flourandco October 21, 2014 at 2:09 pm #

      Thanks, Mandy! Very kind words 🙂

Leave a Reply

